Some Good News for Bees!

I want to pass along this good news story about one species of bumbles to you. I’m going to be on the look-out for these guys in my own garden. I need to carry my camera with me at all times so I can post one myself!

http://grist.org/news/positive-buzz-one-bumblebee-species-makes-a-comeback/

I’ve been busy this morning watering my garden containers as it’s going to be extra hot today. When I created my containers, I made sure to mix coconut coir with my potting soil. I like coconut coir for three reasons: it provides water retention which leads to less need for water; when it dries out it doesn’t become hydrophobic like peat moss (this means it can dry out and still retain water the next time it’s watered); and unlike peat moss, coconut coir is a renewable resource, a by-product of the coconut industry. A real winner all around!

For me, I’d rather use less water and know I’m not contributing to the destruction of water life habitat. Read the label on your potting soil bag to avoid peat moss. Coconut coir is usually sold in bricks. Just put it in a pail, add water and wait over night. It breaks up on its own. I usually put in one parts coconut coir to four-five parts potting soil.

Let me know if you have any questions. I’m happy to clarify further.

This entry was posted in Bees, Flowers, Garden Creatures, Postaweek and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

